CVB

Centre Vidéo de Bruxelles

CONVERSATION *2

NINA DE VROOME / KHRISTINE GILLARD

Jointly initiated by the GSARA Cinema Workshop and the Centre Vidéo de Bruxelles (CVB) Production Workshop, Conversation is a one-year residence based on correspondence between two artists. It is a support structure for the authors, focussed on the stakes of documentary cinema, how it is written and its variations.

Starting with the question: “What does it mean to make films?” this residence is an occasion for a series of questionings about the daily practices of two authors whose approaches merit exploration. The two participants are invited to listen to each other and to talk to each other about their different worlds, to exchange images, sounds, texts or any other means of conveying their particular relationship with reality.

After a first edition with the artists Olivier Dekegel and Emmanuel Van der Auwera, this new Conversation welcomes the filmmakers Nina de Vroome and Khristine Gillard.

The GSARA and the CVB offer the residents singular and original conditions in which to work, practise and experiment their approach to filmmaking: a time-space of one year, a fixed cash grant for the writing work, aid in terms of equipment, interest in and support for the creative process, a specific contribution in terms of communication, promotion and distribution.

NINA DE VROOME

A graduate of the KASK in Ghent, Nina de Vroome develops collaborations in the fields of directing, editing and sound recording. While the relationship we have with our near or distant environment is a recurrent theme in her directing, Nina also develops a “choreographed way of seeing”, which makes tangible the tension between reality and the effect that this has on the body and mind of the filmmaker as she films. Her last two films: “Een idee van de zee” (61' - 2016) and “Golven” (31' – 2013) are constructed using a subtle interlacing of the realistic point of view and poetic imagination.

KHRISTINE GILLARD

Khristine Gillard is the co-founder, with Jen Debauche and Sébastien Koeppel, of the LABO workshop, an artisanal film laboratory for processing film. Her cinematic, photographic or installation modes of expression are connected to the notion of territory, as a geographical space or a mental one. From Brussels to Nicaragua, via the Camargue, the three documentaries she has directed: “Des hommes” (72' - 2008), “Miramen” (22' - 2011) and “Cochihza” (59' - 2013), each explore in their own way the relationship of a man or a woman to his or her territory and the way he or she inhabits it, transforms it, lives in and makes a living from it, creates habits, landmarks, and memories there.

Sophisticated aesthetics, particular attention to sound and to the evocative power of the image, consciousness of one’s own story and memory when facing reality, understanding of the myriad possible relationships between an individual and his or her territory… these are what Nina de Vroome and Khristine Gillard have in common and which form a fine platform on which to base their residence.

Conversation*2 - Upcoming public events:
September 2017, November 2017 at the Filmer à Tout Prix Festival

CVB

Centre Vidéo de Bruxelles

CONVERSATION *2

NINA DE VROOME / KHRISTINE GILLARD

Initiée conjointement par l'Atelier Cinéma du GSARA et l'Atelier de production du Centre Vidéo de Bruxelles - CVB, Conversation est une résidence d'un an basée sur une correspondance entre deux artistes. Un dispositif d'accompagnement des auteurs centré sur les enjeux du cinéma documentaire, ses écritures, ses variations.

Avec pour point de départ la question « Qu'est ce que faire du cinéma ? », cette résidence est le lieu d'une série de questionnements sur la pratique quotidienne de deux auteurs dont la démarche mérite d'être explorée. Une invitation à l'écoute partagée, à la mise en dialogue de deux univers distincts, à l'échange d'images, de sons, de textes ou de tout autre support vecteur d'un rapport singulier au réel.

Après une première édition en compagnie des artistes Olivier Dekegel et Emmanuel Van der Auwera, cette nouvelle Conversation accueille les cinéastes Nina de Vroome et Khristine Gillard.

Le GSARA et le CVB offrent aux résidents des conditions singulières et originales pour travailler, exercer, pratiquer, expérimenter leur chemin en cinéma : un espace temps d’un an, une bourse fixe en numéraire dédié au travail d’écriture, une aide en matériel, une attention et un accompagnement au processus créatif, un travail spécifique à la communication, la promotion et la diffusion.

NINA DE VROOME

Diplômée du KASK à Gand, Nina de Vroome multiplie les collaborations dans le domaine de la réalisation, du montage et de la prise de son. Si le lien que nous entretenons à notre environnement proche ou lointain est également un thème récurent dans ses réalisations, Nina développe dans ses films une « chorégraphie du regard » qui rend palpable la tension entre la réalité et l'effet que celle-ci imprime sur le corps et l'esprit du cinéaste en train de la filmer. Ses deux derniers films en date, Een idee van de zee (61' - 2016) et Golven (31' – 2013), se construisent justement dans un subtil entrelacement entre point de vue sur le réel et imaginaire poétique.

KHRISTINE GILLARD

Co-fondatrice (avec Jen Debauche et Sébastien Koeppel) de l’atelier LABO, laboratoire cinématographique artisanal de traitement de la pellicule film, Khristine Gillard développe une pratique filmique, photographique ou d'installation, en lien avec la notion de territoire, que celui-ci s'appréhende comme un espace géographique ou un espace mental. De Bruxelles au Nicaragua, en passant par la Camargue, les trois documentaires qu'elle a réalisés, Des hommes (72' - 2008), Miramen (22' - 2011) et Cochihza (59' - 2013) explorent chacun à leur manière la relation de l'homme / la femme à son territoire. Comment il / elle l'habite, le transforme, y vit et en vit, y crée des habitudes, des repères, une mémoire.

Esthétiques maîtrisées, attention particulière au travail sonore et au pouvoir évocateur de l'image, conscience de sa propre histoire et mémoire face au réel, appréhension de la multitude des rapports possibles de l'individu à son territoire… voici les beaux points de convergence à partir desquels Nina de Vroome et Khristine Gillard entament cette résidence.

Conversation*2 - Prochains événements publics :
Printemps 2017, Novembre 2017 au Festival Filmer à Tout Prix